Haydn Symphonies – Florilegium

Friday, 25 June at 6 pm & 8 pm

Programme 1, 6pm:


Symphony No.6 in D major (Morning)
Adagio-Allegro, Adagio-Andante-Adagio, Menuet, Finale: Allegro

Andante from Symphony No.94 “Surprise" (arr by Johann P Salamon)

Symphony No.7 in C major (Noon)
Adagio-Allegro, Recitativo: Adagio-Allegro-Adagio, Menuetto, Finale: Allegro

Programme 2, 8pm:


Symphony No.6 (Morning)
Adagio-Allegro, Adagio-Andante-Adagio, Menuet, Finale: Allegro

Finale from Symphony No.104 "London" (arr by Johann P Salamon)

Symphony No.8 in G major (Night)
Allegro molto, Andante, Minuetto, La tempesta: Presto

Florilegium 30th anniversary concert
Ashley Solomon director

Haydn’s first symphonies for his new employer, Prince Paul Anton Esterházy, form a group of three entitled ‘Morning’, ‘Noon’ and ‘Night’. Perhaps these were a result of the Prince’s suggestion that Haydn write something programmatic along the lines of Vivaldi’s Four Seasons. As symphonies for a small chamber orchestra, all three exploit the solo skills of each of Florilegium’s principals, from flute to double bass – not to mention heroic horns – each vividly characterised in an almost operatic way. The 6pm performance will include ‘Morning’ and ‘Noon’ while the 8pm performance will include ‘Noon’ and ‘Night’ as well as a movement from the ‘Surprise’ Symphony.


Available from Ticketsource

To book tickets, click the link above or for telephone booking, call the Box Office on 0333 666 3366. For all general enquiries please call 01233 812740.

Sponsored by Paul & Janet Batchelor